Telephone: 01603 454402




Minstrels Gallery In Print & On CD

To order a book or CD, click on order to email us - Please include your address and the details of what you wish to purchase. We will dispatch the goods and look forward to your cheque by return or we can invoice. Payment via PayPal is also available to

Music In The Glass
Music In The Glass

The musician angels on the front of this CD are just a small example of the many musical stained glass windows to be found in churches across Norfolk. These glasses mostly date from the mid 15th century and are a treasury of medieval musical instrument iconography.

The music on this CD covers this and other periods that we today refer to as Early Music. The Harp, Lute and Shawm depicted in the glass are to be heard here along with a number of other instruments that have long since fallen out of favour. It is the bright and colourful sound of these instruments that first engaged and attracted us to explore this era of artistic achievement.

"… a romp through 450 years of music!"
- Review, Lute News
When I See Winter Return

When I See Winter Return

When I See Winter Return takes you on a musical journey from the onset of winter through the Christmas celebrations and into the hope of the new year to come. The Medieval and Renaissance music that accompanies this journey comes mainly from England with a sprinkling of pieces from further across Europe, focusing on Winter, Nativity, Celebration and Traditions.
"It will brighten every festive season."
- Alison Weir author of Henry VIII and Life of Elizabeth I
Click here to email your order


Music From Strangers' Hall
Music From Strangers' Hall
A variety of medieval and renaissance music played by the Minstrels Gallery full band. The idea behind this recording was to recreate music from past centuries and record it in a historically correct environment, the Merchant House Strangers' Hall in Norwich, with its Tudor Great Hall and Medieval undercroft.
"… many thanks for the lovely CD."
- Peter Murrell
Click here to email your order £10.00
CD Track Listings
Music In
The Glass
When I See
Winter Return
Music From
Strangers' Hall

1 Pucelete - Anon 13C
2 A La Fontanella - Anon Trouvère
3 Nu Alrest - Vogelweide 15C
4 Winder Wie - Reuenthal 13C
5 A Chantar - Beatritz de Dia 12C
6 Como Deus - Cantiga 13C
7 Trotto - Anon 14C
8 Tappster, Dryngker - Anon 15C
9 Bonny Sweet Robin - Anon 16C
10 Ah Robyn - William Cornysh 15C
11 Trink Ich Wein - Dedekind 16C
12 Consort XIV - Henry VIII 16C
13 O My Heart - Henry VIII 16C
14 Tourdion & Villanesque - Le Roy & Morlaye 16C
15 Laissez La Verte - Le Roy 16C
16 Pavane d'Angleterre - Gervaise 16C
17 Galliard d'Ecosse - Phalèse 16C
18 Belle Qui Tiens Ma Vie - Arbeau 16C
19 Niña Y Viña - Anon 16C
20 Washerwoman's Branle - Arbeau 16C
21 Horse’s Branle - Arbeau 16C
22 Falai Mina Amor - Milán 16C
23 Greensleeves Ground - Anon 16C
24 The Honie-Suckle - Holborne 16C
25 O Lusty May - Anon 16C
26 Branle de Champaigne - Anon 16C
27 Mignonne Allons - Chardavoine 16C
28 Farewell Dear Love - Jones 17C
29 Where The Bee Sucks - Johnson 17C
30 O Noble England - William Byrd 17C
31 John Come Kiss Me Now & Grimstock - Playford 17C
32 Puddings And Pies & Half Hannekin - Playford 17C
33 Traders Medley - Broadside 17C
34 Kemp’s Jig - Anon 16C
35 Buffons - Anon 16C


1 When I See Winter Return
2 Quand Voi La Flor Novele
3 On The Cold Ground
4 Beata Progenies
5 Remember O Thou Man
6 La Spagna
7 Riu Riu Chiu
8 Stella Splendens
9 Veni Veni Emmanuel
10 Salutation Carol
11 Sweet Was The Song
12 Basse Dance La Magdalena
13 Maravilosos
14 What Child Is This
15 Konigstanz
16 Es Ist Ein Ros Entsprungen
17 Coventry Carol
18 Sing We To This Merry Company
19 In Dulci Jubilo
20 Three Toyes
21 Sing A Song Of Joy
22 Branle de Champaigne
23 Branle De L'Official
24 Gaudete
25 Ronde & Saltarelle
26 Green Groweth The Holly
27 The Boars Head Carol
28 Ani Novi Novitas
29 Sans Day Carol
30 The Hunt Is Up
31 A Maske
32 O Mistress Mine
33 The Waits
34 Here We Come A Wassailing
35 Tomorrow The Fox


1 Ductia
2 Sumer Is Icumen In
3 Nightingale
4 Ductia
5 Estampie
6 Alle Psalite
7 Anello
8 Pastime
9 Pastime With Good Company
10 Greensleeves
11 Greensleeves Ground
12 Greensleeves All My Joy
13 Helas Madame
14 Daphne
15 Blame Not My Lute
16 Ronde
17 Gavottes
18 Kemp's Jig
19 Heaven And Earth

20 Les Buffons
21 Canarias
22 Schirazula Marazula
23 Ongaresca
24 Ronde
25 Allemande
26 Ronde Mein Freund
27 Hold Thy Peace
28 Light O’Love
29 Bergamasca
30 A Lieta Vita
31 Rececada Primera
32 All In A Garden Green
33 A Boat A Boat
34 Puddings And Pies
35 Scarborough Fair
36 Wiltshire Reel And Winster Gallop


Entertaining The Tudors Book & CDs

Entertaining The Tudors - Classroom Pack

This combined audio CD, CD-ROM and booklet provide a great resource for teachers and pupils alike, packed with musical examples to listen, perform and dance.

The music has been chosen to represent a wide cross section of form and styles from the period, many being familiar from our workshop visit.

The richly illustrated booklet explains each piece in detail, referring to its context, use and instrumental combination.

"It looks great Our music coordinator was very impressed."
- Lisa Tyson, St Paul's School, St Leonards-on-Sea
Click here to email your order
Entertaining The Tudors CD

Entertaining The Tudors

Music played a very important part in Tudor life. Both Henry VIII and his daughter Elizabeth I were musicians, in fact Henry was a composer of many fine pieces including the popular Pastime With Good Company. This CD gives the taste of the wide variety of music that was provided by minstrels to entertain the Tudors.
"How much I enjoyed your album."
- Tim Healey, musicologist and broadcaster.
Click here to email your order
Click here for some examples